(Here is a Devotional Thought from one of good friends here in Washington, DC over the Thanksgiving 2010 holiday. He doesn’t know I posted this, but I decided to anyway. It was a good word.)

Treat a man as he is, and he will remain so. Treat a man the way he can be and ought to be, and he will become as he can be and should be.” -Goethe-

Several years ago I bought my house for under $200,000. Today, I spoke with a realtor and discovered that the houses in my area are now worth well over $250,000. It’s interesting to note that we refer to this as, “Appreciation”. Nothing has changed about my home other than the fact that it has become older. Yet, greater value is perceived by a different market. It’s crazy cause with the economy being the way it is, the prospective sellers & buyers in my area are ecstatic to get it at the price. I was thinking that by the same token, the value we place on people has the same impact.

When we appreciate the best in people, their value begins to rise. We all have less than positive traits. While recognizing our weaknesses can be advantageous, dwelling on them is counterproductive! This Thanksgiving, I just want to let all of you know that I need & appreciate our friendship cause every one of you adds something to me that unlocks my potential each & every day. Whether it’s in the morning on the prayer line, whether it’s when we get up to chill, play ball, or just simply hang out, I realize that I’m truly blessed to have the friends I have and I thank God for each and every one of you. I want to encourage you all to take the opportunity this holiday season to appreciate the strong points of those around you. You never know, you may be the one to unlock their potential!

-anonymous-

-WellingtonMediaGroup-